Can exiled commanders come back?

Yep, commanders can definitely be exiled in MTG. But here's the cool part - because of the 'commander rules,' if your commander gets exiled, you can choose to put it back into the command zone instead. This means you can cast it again later, but it'll cost you 2 more mana each time.
Takedown request View complete answer on playbite.com

What happens if a Commander gets exiled?

If your commander moves to the graveyard or exile, you may choose to put it into the command zone as a state-based action upon it entering said zone; therefore, abilities that trigger when a creature dies or is exiled work as normal when a commander dies or is exiled, but the commander will still end up in the command ...
Takedown request View complete answer on mtg.fandom.com

Can commanders be permanently exiled?

Yes, and yes. You can exile a commander with a spell or ability just like any other creature. But the owner of that commander gets to choose if they want to leave their leader in exile or send it back to the command zone.
Takedown request View complete answer on draftsim.com

Does exile count as dying?

A creature or planeswalker does not die if it is sent to another zone (usually Exile), either directly or by a replacement effect. It ceases to exist as an object on the battlefield, but abilities that check if a creature or planeswalker dies do not trigger.
Takedown request View complete answer on mtg.fandom.com

When can you put Commander back in command zone?

If a commander is in a graveyard or in exile and that card was put into that zone since the last time state-based actions were checked, its owner may put it into the command zone. If a commander would be put into its owner's hand or library from anywhere, its owner may put it into the command zone instead.
Takedown request View complete answer on mtgcommander.net

Can Denver's #1 Vanguard Take Down PartinG's Celestials? (Stormgate)

Why is it called Elder Dragon in Highlander?

This format became the more widely accepted game of Elder Dragon Highlander, with its name drawing inspiration from the Elder Dragon cycle from the Legends set, a series of five three-color legendary Dragons that acted as the Commander of the deck, and The Highlander, the 1986 cult-classic fantasy film which came with ...
Takedown request View complete answer on thegamer.com

What is the rule 0 in Commander?

Rule 0 is an unofficial rule in Commander that allows players to modify the rules of a non-competitive game. The catch? Everyone who's participating has to agree to the changes before the game begins. If you're familiar with the term “house rules,” it's the same concept.
Takedown request View complete answer on draftsim.com

Can you exile indestructible?

Indestructible permanents can still be put into their owner's graveyard by other means, such as by the "legend rule", by being sacrificed or (in the case of creatures) having zero or less toughness. They can also be removed from the battlefield by being bounced or exiled for example.
Takedown request View complete answer on mtg.fandom.com

Can you discard from exile?

Exiling a card is not gaining it or trashing it. Cards on your Exile mat are yours, regardless of whether the card was yours before it was put there (e.g. Exiling a card from the Supply makes that card yours). When you gain a card, you may discard all the other copies of it you have in Exile.
Takedown request View complete answer on wiki.dominionstrategy.com

Does an exiled creature keep its counters?

Equipment attached to the exiled creature will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled creature will cease to exist.
Takedown request View complete answer on gatherer.wizards.com

Can you have 2 commanders?

A player can have two commanders if both have partner. Because both commanders start the game in the command zone, the remaining library is only 98 cards. Your two commanders are treated individually for all other Commander rules. If either leaves the battlefield, you can return it to the command zone instead.
Takedown request View complete answer on mtg.fandom.com

Can grave betrayal take commanders?

It That Betrays cannot steal an enemy commander.

The short version is that the commanders don't move to the command zone using a normal triggered effect, they instead use a state-based action.
Takedown request View complete answer on boardgames.stackexchange.com

Can exiled cards come back?

Cards sent to exile aren't usually able to come back until the end of the game unless they're returned as part of an ability's resolution. These cards are placed in the special “exile” zone face up unless a card says otherwise.
Takedown request View complete answer on draftsim.com

Do commanders count as permanent?

903.3d If an effect refers to controlling a commander, it refers to a permanent on the battlefield that is a commander. If an effect refers to casting a commander, it refers to a spell that is a commander. If an effect refers to a commander in a specific zone, it refers to a card in that zone that is a commander.
Takedown request View complete answer on mtg.fandom.com

Can you exile a Planeswalker?

all cards from target player's graveyard other than basic land cards; for each card exiled this way, search that player's library for all cards with the same name as that card and also exile them. choose one — exile all artifacts; or exile all creatures; or exile all enchantments; or exile all planeswalkers.
Takedown request View complete answer on mtg.fandom.com

Do exiled tokens return?

Momentary Blink reads in part: "Exile target creature you control, then return it to the battlefield under its owner's control." If this spell is used on a creature token, it will be exiled, but it cannot come back to the battlefield and so stays in the exile zone.
Takedown request View complete answer on mtg.fandom.com

Can you regenerate from exile?

No, a creature with regenerate will not be protected from exile. Other things that won't trigger regeneration shield protection are effects that move the creature from the battlefield to another zone, like back to its owner's hand.
Takedown request View complete answer on draftsim.com

Does Hexproof stop exile?

Can a Creature with Hexproof Be Exiled? As long as you're exiling the hexproof creature with a spell or ability that says “exile each creature” or “exile all creatures,” then yes. If you're trying exile a creature with something like Swords to Plowshares, then it won't work.
Takedown request View complete answer on draftsim.com

Can Deathtouch destroy indestructible?

Normally, a creature is destroyed if it takes damage from a creature with deathtouch. But since indestructible creatures can't be destroyed, they're immune.
Takedown request View complete answer on infinite.tcgplayer.com

What happens if a planeswalker is indestructible?

An indestructible planeswalker would survive a Planar Cleansing or Hero's Downfall or such effect that says destroy. However, whenever a planeswalker is dealt damage, that many loyalty counters are removed, indestructibility doesn't stop that from happening.
Takedown request View complete answer on tappedout.net

What happens when a creature has 0 toughness?

Toughness is the number printed after the slash at the bottom right corner of a creature. It is the amount of damage needed to destroy it. If the number becomes equal to or less than 0 at any time, it is put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action.
Takedown request View complete answer on mtg.fandom.com

Is Infinity legal in Commander?

Unfinity is new and unique for an Un-set due to one key fact: many of its cards are legal in Eternal formats like Commander. Cards that do not feature an acorn stamp on the bottom of the card are entirely legal in Magic's most popular format.
Takedown request View complete answer on infinite.tcgplayer.com

Can faceless one be a Commander?

Card Text: If Faceless One is your commander, choose a color before the game begins. Faceless One is the chosen color. Choose a Background (You can have a Background as a second commander.)
Takedown request View complete answer on gatherer.wizards.com

What is the 21 damage rule in Commander?

A player that's been dealt 21 or more combat damage by the same commander over the course of the game loses the game. The commander is tracked across zone changes for this purpose (for example, if one player takes control of another player's commander, any damage that commander already dealt is still counted).
Takedown request View complete answer on magic.wizards.com

Previous question
Are VMAX cards rare?
Next question
Who is on the $2 dollar bill?